Skip to content

Thrombus

April 11, 2017

40 of 40

Some things are once in a life.

The last few years I have opted to write 40 times during Lent, everyday, in silence, on the bike for 90 minutes – ending at Holy Week.

It seemed right and a good thing to do as the season was focused to a better place, and I went with it. This year there has been over 2,000 visits to these writings: small by InterWebNet standards, but big for this.

I opted to take a one day half time break, the 21st day of Lent, exactly 3 weeks ago. No writing, no bike. However this 3rd annual daily deal became point of life pivot.

At midnite a completely crazed night terror, my captaining our house thru a raging storm, ended went I crashed, awake. The resulting 5 days were spent involving hundreds of tests, first every hour, then 2, then 4. About a dozen doctors, more technicians, and nurses and staff created a huge database. Scans – magnetic and radiation, every day, many blood draws all were performed. I was perforated, manipulated, walked and unendingly questioned and tested.

It came down to a “thrombic event”. A blood carrying tube had its inner layer compromised – probably genetic, as I had no (recent) head trauma – and no evidence of any other anywhere. It burst, flooding a part of my brain with blood. Except for balance, nothing was affected. I worked at my bed for 5 days with 9 wires, tubes and apparati attached to me

But everything was affected.

Those tests and hours upon hours of the Best and Brightest reviewing revealed a simple reality. I had had a 1 in 5 type of flood, I was 1 in 10 of those: zero damage. The lead doctor was amazingly focused and finally agreed, that there was nothing to do as I was healing on my own. After 100 hours I went home on the fifth day (24th writing).

Each day for the post-event 10 the drunken part of my brain sobered up, I did not resume coffee, deserts, milk or cheese, Triscuits, lunch or comfort food. But I could have a drink.

The results are daunting. Upon visiting a doc yesterday, I will have a tiny touch of aspirin and statin forever, just like the exercise I am doing now. I must get less fat, as my blood pressure must be less, although I feel fine, maybe better.

The daunting thing is not found in surviving, or therapies – it’s the weirdness of avoiding any and all medical observation, attention, help for 50 years and finding unlimited resources and 5 24hour days to reveal that I am “perfect” (and fat). Nothing before, nothing indicated after, no anything indicating anything anywhere else. No mystery.

But I am faithful. I return to Yale in 2 months to be inspected and have a massive blood draw – “I want to study those who are undamaged” said the Goddess. I will drop mass, and if enough pressure is relieved no other drug save the two I take now and forever, to reduce it. I will do as told, but the polite insertion of the event only cost one radio show and one potential client who could not wait a week to see me.

“You are young.” Said the very young doctor yesterday. Yes, but now it’s all pre-event and post-event, like going to school, getting married, having kids, kids leaving: one of the later markers has been set. Like these 40 pieces, unrelenting, but half in the post-event time.

Easter is Good.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Joseph Dzeda permalink
    April 11, 2017 8:30 am

    Keep on sluggin’, Slugger!

    Joe

  2. April 11, 2017 10:41 am

    Duo: I’m glad your journey this year through Lent returns you to health and from the wilderness of what must have been a very real scare. I look forward to reading many more of your thoughtful writings.

  3. Kirin Nielsen permalink
    April 12, 2017 2:49 pm

    I’m just reading this now. Thank Godde you got help immediately and thoroughly and that you’re on the mend. Much to be thankful for especially in this most intense and revealing week of weeks. Prayers arising for you.

  4. April 14, 2017 9:31 am

    Its odd, and normal…

  5. Annette Ross permalink
    April 25, 2017 8:01 am

    I am stunned to read this – and the way you express what happened is beautiful and poignant … Happy Easter

  6. May 25, 2017 5:28 pm

    2 months in: down 25#/4 belt inches: most BP 139/76 zone & 59 heart rate (after exercise)

  7. June 21, 2017 2:35 pm

    3 months in: down 33#/6 belt inches: BP 138/72 zone & 54 heart rate (after exercise)

Trackbacks

  1. Welcome to Saved by Design | Saved By Design
  2. Saved | Saved By Design
  3. Channelling The Inner Fascist | Saved By Design

Leave a Reply

